I fell in love with the idea of plarn crochet on the day before Earth Day this year.  Now, I must come to terms with the fact that the pain in my hand, wrist and forearm are largely due to this plastic affair.  Crocheting with yarn doesn’t hurt (unless I’m doing it for hours on end).  Crocheting with plarn does, and for the past few days, the pain has extended to driving (turning the key and handling the steering wheel), typing (even on my ergonomic keyboard), using the mouse, writing, and – today – turning door knobs.

I have said good-bye to plarn.

Honestly, I prefer crocheting with yarn.  It’s not as hard on the hands, and I don’t have to cut it up first.  But I like the idea of plarn.  I like that it was different, and that the designs I was brainstorming and developing were different than any other plarn bags I’ve seen online.  As Mom reminded me today, however, one does not need to be doing something entirely unique to be a successful artist.  One merely has to do what one does very well.  I’m holding onto the grocery bags I’ve been given and been saving.  I may play with the idea of fusing.  Mom and I had some brainstorms about that today.  We’ll see what comes of it.

Jason has convinced me to take a week off of any type of crocheting (waaah!), and I’m going to be limiting my computer time as well, to give my hand/arm time to heal.  In the meantime, we’re going to move an armed desk chair* down here, as I never had a problem with my mouse use when I had my elbow resting on the arm of a chair.

Happy trails, plastic yarn.

*That would be a chair with arms.  Not one armed with a weapon.  The latter is somewhat against my pacifist nature and probably wouldn’t help much with the pain.

