My new friend, Tina, and I voted together today.

I met Tina when we were parking our cars, about 1/4 mile from the early voting site.  She was getting her portable chair out of the trunk, too, and we walked to the line together.  We talked, we stood or sat together and read, she read while I crocheted.  Three hours later, we left, knowing little more about each other than that she has a 22-year-old daughter and a mother who is a 16-month breast cancer survivor (Go, Tina’s mom!!) and I have 8- and 5-year-old sons and a mother who is a 25-year Hodgkin’s survivor (Go, Mom!).  Neither of our mommies likes us to worry about them, but we do anyway.  She works in a lab, and I am a stay-at-home mom.  We both like to smile and joke.  I stopped short of hugging her good-bye when we parted company at our cars (I know not everyone is a hugger like I am), but I sort of wish I hadn’t.  I thought about getting a photo of the two of us together, but my camera was without its memory card.  We avoided talking politics, beyond some generalities, and I wonder if today was a momentous one for her, as it was for me.

So, Tina, whose last name I don’t know, who drives the SUV, thank you for sharing your morning with me.  I’ll be thinking of you on Tuesday.

