Several things came together to result in this particular post on this particular evening.

1. Earlier this week, I signed up for NaBloPoMo, wherein I pledge/challenge myself to post at least once a day for a month.

2. Sheri IM’d me a few moments ago, asking where my post for today was.

3. I was completely blank in regards to a subject for said post.

#3 reminded me of those horrible forced journaling times in Language Arts (elementary school) and English (high school) classes many years ago.  Do you remember them?  When the teacher would say, “I want you to journal for five minutes, about anything.  Even if you have nothing to say, just write that.”

While I work well under the pressure of a deadline, this was not the ideal creative situation for me.  Most of the time, pages journaled by yours truly on these days ended up reading something like this:

“I’m supposed to be journaling, but I can’t think of anything to say.  I don’t know what to write about I don’t know what to write about I don’t know what to write about, and it’s only been thirty seconds.  I’m going to write slower.  My pencil is yellow, I can’t think of anything to say…”

Well, you get the idea.

If I’m in the mood to write, great!  I can wax poetic about any number of things.  If I’m not in the mood, give me a prompt, and I can still do pretty well.  But write about anything?  For a specified period of time?  Not so much.  I need direction, please!

(Although, for not being in the mood to blog, and not having a specific prompt, I guess I’ve done all right tonight.)

