randomtuesday

  • Cookie Dough Truffles??  Yes, please.
  • Yesterday, I emptied out FIVE more boxes.  Two of them were moving boxes of a strength that is no longer used by the moving companies.  I believe they date from 1993 or earlier.  The handwriting on them is Dad’s, and it reads: Pre-Teen Books, Nov. 2000.  As in, “Ooh, great, you had a kid!  Take a couple of boxes from our basement!”  I totally get that, because my boys will get boxes in the exact same manner some day.  Anywho, now that I almost have a preteen (okay, technically they’re both “preteen,” but Nicolas is almost ten…ack!), I tore into the boxes.  Oh my, the treasures within!  The Phantom Tollbooth.  Sideways Stories From Wayside School.  Several Choose Your Own Adventures.  Bobbsey Twins.  Nancy Drew.  Laura Ingalls.  The Velveteen Rabbit.  Are You There, God?  It’s Me, Margaret.  The complete set of TimeLife’s Wild, Wild World of Animals.  And so many more.  The boys are going nuts for them.  (Um, except for Margaret.  And the one about a teenaged girl who gets raped.  I took those of the stash.)
  • My kitchen table is covered with books.  Cov-ered.
  • What is it about British television productions that are so entrancing?  We love them.  The past few nights, Jason and I have been watching Lord Peter and Harriet banter eloquently.  My parents introduced me to them when I was at their house last summer, and I was thrilled to find them on Netflix’s instant queue.  I can’t decide whether to show him Bleak House (Gillian Anderson is crazy good in it.)  or The Scarlet Pimpernel (with Bob Cratchit!) next.  Both will probably have to wait awhile, because he wants to catch up on Oscar nominees.
  • As I mentioned above, Nicolas is turning ten next month.  Ten!  Ten.  Really??  That’s double digits.  I distinctly remember turning ten.  Wow.
  • I do not feel grown up enough to have a ten-year-old.
