randomtuesday

  • I am feeling MUCH better this week.  Friday dawned as the first teacher work day I have looked forward to since I was the one getting out of school for teacher work days.  It was sunny.  I had good times with my boys.
  • Tomorrow, Nicolas is turning 10.  That means (a) my miracle baby is turning ten, and (b) ten years ago, at this very moment, I was pretty damned sick and had no idea how serious it was.  It’s kind of weird to have an annual reminder of that.
  • The Census Bureau has put together lesson plans for teachers.  How nifty is that?  I offered to come speak to Nicolas’s class about the aspect of the Census that I find the most fun – its application in genealogy.  In that vein, I got the names of Nicolas’s teacher’s grandfathers and found them on the census when they were young men.  I can’t wait to share that with the class.
  • Since last summer, when I first found this class at Jessica Sprague’s site, I have been aching to take it.  Aching.  My Christmas and birthday gifts from various members of the family was cash towards it.  Mom gave me her Nikon CoolPix that she didn’t use any more.  The next available class was MARCH 2010.  Soooooo far away!  Aching, I tell you.  Guess who got into the class?  Guess what class started yesterday?  Not aching for that class anymore.
  • Now I’m aching for a new lens.  Kids these days…never satisfied with their toys.
  • Thankfully, the CoolPix is a bridge camera, so I can’t go nuts dreaming over expensive lenses and such.  Jason is breathing a huge sigh of relief right now, I guarantee you.
  • We had a fabulous day trip on Saturday, which I’ll write about later this week.  For now, I’ll leave you with a teaser of my guys:

