Now that I’m fiddling around with my camera more, I thought I’d jump into some challenges.  I don’t know about you, but there’s nothing like a challenge to stir my creative juices.  Today, Ree at The Pioneer Woman issued a Macro Challenge.

I love the macro setting on my camera.  It’s so much fun to get up close and personal.  My initial thought was to take some photos of the flowering bush just popping into bloom in the front yard, or maybe some of the dandelions dotting the lawn.  In clicking through the Flickr group, however, I noticed that flowers and plants were the overwhelming choice of photographers responding to the challenge.

As I looked at flower after gorgeous flower (really, most of those shots are stunning!), a ring popped into my mind.  For my birthday, my parents gave me a beautiful ring.  I love it.  It’s SO me.  Turns out it also makes a pretty darned gorgeous photographic subject.

Not too shabby, if I may say so myself.  I like the fact that it’s low-contrast, and I love the detail the camera captured in the center stone.  I had a lot of fun with this in Photoshop before settling on this version, but I finally made myself quit while I was ahead.

ETA: Okay, this is so frustrating.  Is the photo blurry when you guys look at it?  When I insert it into the post, it’s crystal clear, but once I hit publish, it looks blurry.  Please click the photo to go take a peek at it on Flickr…it’s much prettier there!

Sweet Shot DayI’m adding this to Sweet Shot Tuesday, too!  It’s definitely my favorite photo of the week.

