randomtuesday

  • What, Tuesday again?  Oh dear, that means I leave town in two days.  I have a lot to do.  Why am I on the computer?  Oh yeah, because I’m the Queen of Procrastination.  Or will be when I get around to buying myself a crown.  Someday.
  • I don’t have an actual bucket list, more of a vague bucket jumble in my head.  Things I want to do.  Make that things I really want to do.  Maybe I should write them down?  Anywho…  I found a new experience to add to the jumble/list this weekend while reading O Magazine.  Travel to a random foreign destination with no plans, asking people I meet there what they recommend.  What an outrageous, scary, exhilarating thought!  I tore the article out and added it to our travel file after informing Jason that we’re going to do that someday.  I tore several articles out of that issue, as a matter of fact.  I don’t often recommend specific magazine issues, but this one has some good stuff in it.
  • Holy cow.  Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas?  Count me in.  (Minus the peppers, because, you know, they’re peppers.  Ick.)  I think I’m the only one in the family who would eat them.  Even better.
  • Speaking of The Pioneer Woman, did anyone else do a double-take while watching Dancing With the Stars last night?  From the angle the camera shot them, the people in the audience applauding for Erin looked an awful lot like Ree and her daughter.  At least in the quick glance I got the first two times they were shown.  I knew it wasn’t them, because Ree was tweeting from the ranch all day.  Sure enough, when the camera went back to them later in the show, that was obvious.  Still, it had me questioning myself for a few moments.
  • That was a really oddly random thing to talk about, wasn’t it?  Oh wait, it’s Tuesday.  It’s supposed to be random.  I think I might be getting the hang of this.
  • It’s been a week of weird anniversaries, hasn’t it?  Twenty years ago, Jim Henson died.  That’s the first thing I remember happening in the “outside world” that truly affected my psyche.  Oh sure, I remember the Ollie North trial, and a couple of other major 80’s events, but hey, I was a kid.  A normal, American, self-centered kid.  Those things happened, but they didn’t happen to me.  Jim Henson?  Kermit Himself?  I felt that loss.
  • The other anniversary – today, thirty years ago.  Mt. St. Helens.  I don’t remember that one (I was five, people, not even in kindergarten yet), but now that I live in the PNW, I’m learning a lot about it, and obviously the anniversary is quite a big deal around here.  For good reason.  The thing is still active.  Wow.  I think we’re going to go visit it this summer.
