The kids are happily pounding away at their play dough right now.  The homemade kind.

When I saw it on Nicolas’s track, my immediate thought was, “He needs to make his own.”  I used to make it once or twice a year for the boys’ preschool classes, and the recipe was still floating around here on my hard drive.  It couldn’t be easier, and it’s fun for the older kids to help with.  I figured the kneading would be good, OT-wise, too.

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup salt
1 Cup flour
1 Tbsp. cream of tartar
1 Tbsp. oil
1 Cup water
Food coloring

Dump all of the ingredients, except the food coloring, into a heavy pot.  (I doubled this batch, so each boy would have a giant lump to play with.)

Turn stove on medium heat and stir.

And stir.

And stir.

(It takes some strength after a while…they each only stirred for a few seconds.  You have to keep it moving.)

Until you have this:

A lump.

Careful, if it starts to smoke, yank the pot off the heat.  It’s done.

Okay, this is very, very hot dough.  I do NOT let the boys touch it yet.  I don’t think it would burn them (although the pot would), but remember: Sensory Processing Disorder.  Heat hurts Nicolas.

Anywho, carefully turn the dough out onto a clean countertop and knead it a few times.

When you’ve kneaded it for a couple of minutes, and it’s cool enough for the kids to handle, divide the dough as you see fit.  In this case, I divided it into two equal lumps, so each boy would get their own color.  If you want to make dough of many colors, make a lump for each color.

Create a well to put the food coloring in, and drip it in!  Kalen asked for a turquoisy-green, so I put in mostly green with a smidge of blue.

Fold it up.

Knead.

And knead.

And knead.

And knead.  (Nicolas wanted “just blue.”)

Until the color’s all blended in.  Add more food coloring, and repeat the kneading bit, if you’d like.

See?  Turquoisy-green.

